Board of Directors

Since its inception, Austin’s own community licensed public television station KLRU, has brought exceptional educational television to the Central Texas community. This non-profit 501(c)(3) organization is made possible through support from our members.

2018-2020 Board Meeting Schedule (pdf)

*Laura H. Beckworth, Hobby Communications, LLP (Board Chair)

Sergio Alcocer, Rest of the World

*James Aldrete, Message Audience & Presentation

Ryan Atlas, Rest of the World

Christian Barnard,T3

Alka Bhanot, IndeMeme

Louis Black, Co-Founder of The Austin Chronicle and SXSW

*Mike Blue, Ernst & Young LLP (Board Treasurer)

Ross Buhrdorf, Zen Business, Inc.

*Christy Carpenter, Non-Profit Leader & Advisor (*Board Secretary)

Virginia Cumberbatch, Division of Diversity & Community Engagement, University of Texas at Austin

*Denise Davis, Davis Kaufman PLLC

\Debra Day Floyd, Civic Volunteer

James Flieller, Cherry Bekaert LLP

*Sherrie Frachtman, Civic Volunteer

Vanessa A. Gonzalez, Bickerstaff Heath Delgado Acosta

Trey Hamlett, Chair KLRU Community Advisory Board (ex officio)

Joe Hanson, Science Writer/YouTube Educator

*Jordan Herman, Baker Botts LLP

Julie Herrera, Toyota of Cedar Park

Don Ross Hewlett, Hewlett Family of Dealerships

*Karen Kennard, Former City Attorney

*Myra Leo, K&L Gates LLP

*Jan Lindelow, Investor & Philanthropist

Jonathan Levy, Brown Advisory

Ray Martinez, Independent Colleges and Universities of Texas, Inc. (ICUT)

Stacey A. Martinez, Norton Rose Fulbright US LLP

*Chris Mattsson, Mattsson McHale Foundation (PAST Board Chair)

*Amy Wong Mok, Asian American Cultural Center

Nan McRaven, McRaven Consulting

Bob Morse, Strattam Capital

Milam Newby, Vinson & Elkins

Minh Hien Nguyen, NTT DATA Services

Nona Niland, Niland Foundation

*Ryan Nixon, Goshawk Global Investments LLC (*Board Vice Chair)

Claire Pinkerton, Civic Volunteer

Nancy Pollard, Friends of the Children

Mellie Price, Dell Medical School at The University of Texas at Austin

Janine Reintjes, Civic Volunteer

Catherine Robb, Haynes and Boone, LLP

Shuronda Robinson, Adisa Communications

*Deanna Rodriguez, Entergy

Geronimo Rodriguez, Seton Healthcare Family

*Sergio Rodriguez, GALO OPS, LLC

Manuel Rosso, Food on the Table

Yvette Ruiz, JP Morgan Chase

Patti C. Smith, International Media Consultant

Brad Schlosser, Schlosser Development

*Joah Spearman, Localeur

*Bill Stotesbery, KLRU-TV, Austin PBS (ex officio)

Robert Strauss, Peak Rock Capital

*Carl Stuart, Carl Stuart Investment Advisor, Inc

Carol Wagner, Civic Volunteer

Frank Ward , Founder & Principal at Forward Public Affairs

Craig Watkins , PhD Ernest S. Sharpe Centennial Professor at the University of Texas at Austin and founding director of the Institute for Media Innovation

Matt Winkler, Asuragen, Inc.

Howard Yancy, Zydeco Development

Jeriad Zoghby, PhD, Accenture Interactive

* Executive Committee member